top of page

Why Do You Give Where You Live? - Patrick McKee


Thanks to Patrick McKee for sharing our first member story on Why Do You Give Where You Live!

Patrick McKee * Age 23 * Tipp City Resident

How did you hear about Give Where You Live?

I learned about Give Where You Live from my sister who is on the steering committee for this organization. After learning more about the organization and the impact it could have in the community, I couldn’t wait to join!

What made you decide to become a member?

My parents taught me from a young age the importance of giving back, so when I heard about the concept I was very interested. As a Christian, I feel it is very important to help those in need. Giving generously is a concept I try and live by. I loved how this organization gave me the opportunity to give back to a variety of different groups. Also, I enjoyed hearing about organizations that may be not extremely well known, but still have a huge impact in our community.

Why do you enjoy Give Where You Live?

I enjoy Give Where You Live because of the huge impact it has on the organizations to which we donate. It is very interesting learning about the other organizations and how they help people in so many ways. I especially enjoy learning about how the receiving organizations have used my money to positively impact so many people. After the initial meeting, I was very impressed to see the positive impact each members’ $100 check had on the receiving organization. In most cases our organization’s gift is a very substantial portion of the recipient organization’s annual budget.

Has anything impacted you during your time as a member?

Hearing the organizations who have been selected come back and report on how they have used the gift has been so impactful. Hearing the personal stories on how our donation impacted the organization is incredible. When I think of the huge impact my gift combined with every other member’s gift has made is very humbling. I genuinely look forward to our quarterly meetings. I am so proud to be a member of Give Where You Live!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page