top of page

Eagles' Wings Stable Receives GWYL Grant

Give Where You Live of Miami County has presented its third quarter 2020 grant to Eagles’ Wings Therapeutic Riding Center which is located on Washington Road in Piqua, OH. Awarding of the grant was accomplished virtually instead of the normal face-to-face meeting. Members nominated their favorite charities via email. From the list of nominations, three charities were randomly selected and members individually researched each of the three charities. Selection of the grant designee was accomplished through online voting.


Eagles’ Wings provides equine-assisted therapeutic activities for people with special needs to benefit and improve their development and quality of life. They value the multidimensional motion and personality of the horse as a therapist to make the movements and connections necessary to improve the participants’ well-being. The following story of hope was provided by one of their current riders:


“I am 70 years old and have a genetic neuromuscular disease similar to muscular dystrophy. I use a walker around the house but when I go out I have a power wheelchair. I have severe muscle weakness in my legs and some muscle weakness in my arms. I also have major balance issues.


One day the gal who does my hair (she volunteers in the barn at Eagles' Wings) and I were talking and she suggested I go to their website and fill out the papers. So I researched therapeutic riding and thought perhaps they could help me so I filled out the papers and talked with my neurologist who thought it was an excellent idea. That was July of 2019 at which time there was a waiting list. As it turned out there was a cancellation for September so I started then.


It took 4 or 5 people to get me on the horse and I was very wobbly and couldn't sit up straight but I vowed I would return for the next 5 classes. I am so glad I did. I am just finishing up my 3rd 8 week session.


My legs are much, much stronger, my balance is much better, and my all around posture is better. I can even get on the horse by myself. The instructors are great too and very in tune to your individual needs. The second to last class of the second session I was wiggling so much I was scaring my horse, so for the last 2 classes they put me on a giant horse. At the end of that class I told the instructor in training and the instructor that I was sorry to say I would not be back because that horse was just too big for me. They begged me not to quit because I had come so far and during the break they would figure something out.


When I came back I had my same horse, but with a western saddle instead of the English one. I am so glad I came back. I'm learning so much and getting stronger with every class.”



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page